V-Moda M100 XL memory cushions

I tried to use my V-Moda M100 as headset since I owned the BoomPro mic, BoomPro–>, but since my ears were always pretty much touching the inner of the headphones I never really got comfortable wearing them for a longer period of time. Also, at work I can use the M100’s fine for a few hours stretch – but at home, I’m more sensitive and my listening gets shorter. So I recalled that I had read something about XL cushions. And lo and behold – here they are: http://v-moda.com/xl-memory-cushions/ . I ordered and within a week I got them – pretty quick actually.

My gripe was how to attach them since I hadn’t really been able to make the standard cushions move in any way that indicated that they could actually be detached. But the internet is great, I found this really good video on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tgat9VVVLlc – thank you miceblue425, that really helped!

Here are some photos of my changing my cushions and also showing slightly how they differ from the originals.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After the new cushions is in place is there a noticeable difference? Yes, my ears don’t touch the innards any more. Also the sound signature is slightly altered. The seal is tighter and I hear less of the outside now. The bad side is that the clamping is slightly harder and me having a sensitive sport under my ear close to the jawbone am waiting for the memory effect of the cushion to apply and get a bit softer.

Still, I feel like this made the headphones more comfortable and will try them out a bit more with the BoomPro microphone. Still, they don’t feel like the best option for headset since they are bass-monsters! Listened to some Dirtchamber Sessions vol.1 by Prodigy and the bass is soooo oompfie in a good way :). Makes BF4 a bit painful if you are close to an explosion though…

About sketchywolf

sketchywolf(aka Foolwolf) is a blog where I will try different hobbies and document them on. Certain ramblings and may even start some story writing etc. I will also try to have a collection of my reviews of all things that I try and wants to share...
This entry was posted in Hobby - Gadgets, Review - GADGET and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

