QPAD QH-90 closed headset [first look]

I have to say that despite me being on a strained budget, I just had to get these headphones/headset. Why? Something just told me that my run with QPAD’s quality and feel for bringing high-end stuff to gamers would pay off, and as the previous articles showed an interest for AudioTechnica – these headphones just looked really nice and reminded me of the Beyerdynamic range.

Now, I’m not trying these out in a game. Hard to type and play at the same time. I will however pause soon and have a go at Borderlands 2 and bust a few caps. Sorry – but ever since Tiny Tina got some PK worry cloud over her head I just have to speak up for the right to be silly and over the top.  No, I’m not going to turn this into a post about the language of some game… I’m however going to state this – I’m sitting with a smile, listening to Jesus of Suburbia via my nuForce DAC and pure wav file on Foobar and enjoying what I’m hearing. My previous headset, sorry Sennheiser G4me 360, but it took the QH-90 half a song to replace you. You still have the mic to beat Beyer… QPAD… But for music? Wow – a huge lift for the music to sit here with the QH-90. The bass isn’t overly strong – I switch to Timbaland, “The way I are” and enjoy a thump and a distinct bass. It isn’t heavy on flat EQ – but kicking in the EQ and moving the three left-most sliders to 75% approx. I get a nice thump, still rich but a danger for breaking out a distortion though. Kicking down to 60% and you have a decent bass. Still, not the heaviest and not close to real Hi Fi or heavy-duty DJ phones. But this is a gaming headset I paid 999 SEK for! That’s just around 100€.

OK, back to some music and I switch to Heather Nova “Island” and the intro is rich, high and clear. The guitar and almost hoarse whispering that follows is detailed and rich. Final test before I talk some more about the actual headset is System of a Down “Sugar”. The bass isn’t really there but the bass guitar and drums are defined at least and you can hear the strings humming, the drum going and the voice ans screeching guitar makes a nice composition. When everything is full on, there is a rumble but still defined. Nice.

So, let’s have some pictures and I will try to describe what I saw as I struggled to open this package…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, well, the packaging was extremely tough to crank open, so I had to give up my idea of making an unboxing movie for YouTube. The packaging contains info on the headset, has nice print and is actually a huge package and quite heavy. Comparing to the Sennheiser PC 360, I have to say that plastic cartoon throw away (that’s you Sennheiser) and heavy-duty quality box with soft foam cut out to support the headphones, matte plastic, metal, silver font inside the packaging, extra cords bonanza etc just makes this a luxurious packaging. You are really happy at this point when you are starting to realize that you are close to getting your first glimpse. The first glimpse is not bad either. The headphones look and feel like real Hi Fi phones. (Beyerdynamic look with the metal beam and ear-cup characteristic holders etc…) The leather against the ears and around the head-beam are nice touches. Since the poor Sennheiser (honestly, they are not bad, but they cost like 1490 SEK at the time…) have plush earmuffs that are really good at collecting dust… The fact that you don’t have to live with the mic on is also a nice bonus for me – you know seriously – I wish I had people who I actually wished to talk to – strategy and tactical advises etc in-game – but honestly I don’t use the mic that often since my most standard comment would something alike -“SHUDDUPGADDAMWHIPPERSNAPPERS!”And lets face it, it is better that I just shut it and concentrates on trying to get above the abysmal mid-score line in my team 😉 Still, the QH-90 will have to perform admirably in STEAM to have anything on the Sennheiser’s when it comes to the mic. The 360 has one helluva mic I tell you! But I can’t really put down the headset, attach the mic to try it out as I type since I’m grooving to Them Crooked Vultures “No One Loves me Neither Do I”… So sorry guys, I have to post that test at a later date.

So quality?
So how does it feel to pick them up?
Are they Quincy Jones Standard????

Quality wise, they feel rigid, have a nice balanced weight to them. Good depth of ear cups and the finish speaks of quality as well. Metal on the mid of the cups and matte finished plastic for the base of the actual ear cups. Soft filling of nice quality, not flimsy at all. Move nicely when you adjust them and the adjustment is draw out the beam holding the cups to fit. The leather (which I still suspect may be pleather!) is nice and soft – but still, it is (p)leather so they tend to get a bit – ahmmm – affected by the human condition when skin is pressed under none-breathing materials and getting warm. Still, you notice if you think to hard or take them off.

To pick them up feels great. The buy is nothing I regret, I do regret some other buys though but I guess that soon I have to do some second-hand internet sales….;)  OK, I’m not going to tease. I just played some five minutes of Borderlands 2- and the sound? Yeah, much more open and clear than the Sennheisers. Almost too clear after having the Sennheisers for so long. The shots were rapt and the background music and small noises came out really nice. I heard more extra sound effects than before this way.

So are they Quincy Jones?
Not even close. But they are pretty great and as a gaming headset, I have to say that I haven’t heard anything that is even on par with them. For the Hi Fi boast QPAD claims, they are not wrong to do so. The Sound is really clear and apt. Nice definition and it performs well in music and in videos. The gaming. I’m not really sure yet. The overly clear sound may grow on me, but I guess that for gamers looking for accurate steps etc they are really nice. Positioning is what is expected from a 2 channel stereo phones. They are good for that, but don’t beat 5.1 or 7.1 with fully functioning drivers and in-game support – of course. But still, does the job.

Now would I recommend that you go out and buy them? Well, as always, I prefer to tell people to make up their own minds, listen to the headset and check them out before dishing up hard-earned money. Hearing is very personal and if you are not used to Hi Fi headsets, it may be hard to justify the price tag. But if the price tag isn’t scaring you and you want good sound regardless of earlier experiences, and are looking for a headset that isn’t bound to a USB soundcard – then I would strongly recommend you to check these out.

There is not that much of a difference between the QH-90 and QH-85 on the paper. Closed vs open. The QH-85 has a grilled open plate on the side vs the QH-90 which has a solid plate. It is said that the QH-85 blocks 10 decibel and the QH-90 blocks 20 decibel. I can’t confirm that – but having these on and talking to someone is going to be a challenge, if you are playing or listening to music – even more of a challenge.

Want to read/see more?
Here is my first look video on YouTube –>>
Here you can read more on the QPAD official site about their headsets –>>
Here you can read more about the headset I compare to throughout the article –>>

Technical stuff

QPAD QH-90 Pro Gaming Hi-Fi Headset, Black, Closed
From official site
QH-90 Features
Hi-fi capable 53mm drivers for supreme audio quality
15-25.000 Hz frequency response
Detachable microphone (quick and easy to plug/unplug for music-only purposes)
Solid aluminum construction for durability and stability
Super-soft padded leather headband and velour padding on cups for maximum comfort
Closed cup design on QH-90 for enhanced bass-reproduction and sound leakage
Modell: QPAD® QH-90 Pro gaming headset – Black – Closed cups
Art.Nr. 3305
EAN: 7350020291890
QH-90 Technical Specifications
elimination
Headphone QH-90
Transducer type: Dynamic Ø53mm
Operating principle: Closed
Frequency response: 15Hz-25KHz
Nominal impedance: 60 Ω per system
Nominal SPL: 98±3dB
T.H.D: < 2%
Power handling capacity: 150mW
Sound coupling to the ear: Circumaural
Ambient noise attenuation: approx.20 dBA
Headband pressure: 5 N
Weight with microphone and cable: 350g
Cable length and type: 1m + 2m extension + 10cm iphone
Connection: Mini stereo jack plug(3.5MM)
Microphone
Transducer type: Condenser(back electret)
Operating principle: Pressure gradient
Polar Pattern: Cardioid
Power supply: AB powering
Supply voltage: 2V
Current consumption: Max 0.5 mA
Nominal impedance: ≤2.2 kΩ ± 30%
Open circuit voltage at f = 1 kHz 20 mV / Pa
Frequency response: 100 – 12,000 Hz
T.H.D: 2% at f = 1 kHz
Max. SPL: 105dB SPL (THD ≤ 1.0% at 1KHz)
Microphone output: -39±3dB
Dimensions: Ø6*5mm
Length mic boom: 150MM(include gooseneck)
Capsule diameter: Ø6mm
About sketchywolf

sketchywolf(aka Foolwolf) is a blog where I will try different hobbies and document them on. Certain ramblings and may even start some story writing etc. I will also try to have a collection of my reviews of all things that I try and wants to share...
This entry was posted in Hobby - Gadgets, Hobby - Music, Ramblings, Review - GADGET and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

