The good, the bad and Diablo 3

I have now gotten my hands on Diablo3, the complete game and are playing. I’m enjoying myself pretty well so far, but there are several snags – that are not as much the problem with the game, the dumbed down things nor the mechanics or the water-coloured backgrounds – no it is with the thing I really despised the most – the always on-line demand.

Not only isn’t the full feature of the oh so beneficial thing that were the “main” reason for this always online stupidity not even there yet – the auction house for real money.

So in “wait” for this – I have to endure not only that I found out that I had played on american servers – that my characters couldn’t play in European servers. Oh – joy.

Also, when I’m playing – I constantly found myself disconnected from servers and servers are then full. I’m playing a single player game – I don’t even have ANYONE in my friends list – so yeah – I’m fucking annoyed!

Let’s get back to the game though. it is a fun game, it is a good game – it just isn’t a great game. It is sort of Dungeon Siege 3 – done well with fun mechanics and actually fun game play. The things I do bother with is the level system where you can’t really decide what to level up with. You have skills – but they could have been game story implemented just as well and you can choose them just like in Guild Wars – with the change that you can switch which to have equipped and with what run – all the time. OK, well that mechanic is working pretty decent and make for you spamming first 2 skills constantly whereas the first is to build up what your character needs to spam the second ability, third, fourth etc.

I don’t prefer this over the Diablo 2 tree – nor do I despise it. It is what it is. The dumbed down thing is that you are not allowed to make stupid mistakes. It is a game that wants you to succede and it wants you to have a fairly pleasant a not too scary journey to fight the moderately harsh voiced Diablo. Sorry – but it should’ve been shit-your-pants-scary and the music is like the old loved Tristam theme song – all the time. I miss the old Diablo and Diablo 2 music.

The water colour background is easy on the graphics cars – meaning you surfer only can play this as well most likely – but it makes for a contrast low experience and tired eyes.

The server no switch was what really pissed me off – most of my firends are most likely playing on European servers this time – and I’m stuck with American servers… Sorry – but this on-line always is just shit-assed stupid IMO and should have been made optional – like die-hard characters etc…

Other then that? Well, I will try to make a character for the European server now – because the thing Blizzard is a master of making – is the “just one more monster and just one more teleporter…”

I will just do one more round – then I will complain some more 😉

About sketchywolf

sketchywolf(aka Foolwolf) is a blog where I will try different hobbies and document them on. Certain ramblings and may even start some story writing etc. I will also try to have a collection of my reviews of all things that I try and wants to share...
This entry was posted in Hobby - Gaming and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

