goodbye and thank you for the fish

Shamelessly stealing the wonderful title of a wonderful book – how the heck do I fit that into anything?

Well as it turns out – after my Santa been here with some nice toys and all – I’m back with my Steelseries Sensei and I’m typing this on the nicely blue glowing keys of my QPad MK-80. In the background my Foobar 2000 is playing lossless wav files – all isn’t OK but it is actually sounding and feeling good.
Not that the experience with the Corsair stuff was bad in any way – they just didn’t take the step all the way out there and for me – that was the deal breaker. The mix between the red and rubber dome didn’t annoy me as much as the fact that they said they had serached for the best silent way with the K60 echoed hollow twice. First on the K60, doubly so with soft landing pads — but more so when I switched the caps from the K-60 and the MK-80. The MK-80 started to sound a lot more echo wise and the strike throughs sounded way more. Now I thought that the Blue were supposed to have that annoying sound eh? Turns out that quality, experience etc is as always tightly attached to your own life expereince. For me – the QPad is better and the Sensei is just that little edge better.
But thank you Corsair – the K60 and M60 are certainly among the better peripherals I have tested and you sold me on red switches – I just need to find a keyboard that is on par with my expectations here. Also, the M60 was one damned nice mouse – but the load up problems and drivers weren’t what I as searching for.
How would I rate my experience with Corsair? Very well – I would easily say that they are the next best thing in many categories and the price is just right – but if you aren’t that price sensitive and you are prepared to pay that steep price increase for small gain – then you should probably challenge yourself a bit more and go out looking for something more.

Now I know that I once more was betrayed by my wallet – and the next time I will try to wait further to buy something nice. Right now I have been thinking about trying out the Diablo III mouse and perhaps the Steelseries 6G red caps or simply go for the QPad MK-85. Also, I’m waiting for the Storm Quick Fire rapid to enter the shores of the Nordic countries – so come on and bring it here will ya?

About sketchywolf

sketchywolf(aka Foolwolf) is a blog where I will try different hobbies and document them on. Certain ramblings and may even start some story writing etc. I will also try to have a collection of my reviews of all things that I try and wants to share...
This entry was posted in BLOG and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

