Razer Sphex – review

I have had the ultra thin Razer Sphex mouse pad going now for some days and I have come to get used to it and tried it out in many games and programs.

First of all, the mouse pad is a ultra thin story – and I mean thin! I first thought I had bought myself a huge sticker – but it was coated on one side and sort of “stickyish” on the other side. The pad is fickle until you have it down on the table where it kinda “sucks” to the surface without any sort of adhesive – making it movable. The coating is less then the average hard pad and gives it a feel that is something of between a soft pad and a hard mat – but more characteristics of a hard one. You will notice dirt very quickly, and the table needs to be clean – almost spotless otherwise you will feel the bumps. This pad is good as long as your table is OK. The pad being so thin it will inherit some of the tables qualities. That said – id makes for a very nice and seamless profile. If you like to have a low mouse and a thin wrist support or none at all – this is a good option.

Conclusion:
The pad delivers on most accounts. The glide is great when clean, and the control is on par. If you need a large mouse pad – you should probably keep looking and if your table isn’t great and smooth – likewise – keep looking. If not – then this may be something for you. My biggest problem is that I don’t think this one will last for long being so thin and I haven’t had time gaming that much to notice any wear and tear. It comes in a wide variety of designs – http://is.gd/BxCkAy . A few gripes that I have can be more pointed to the fact of the characteristics of a hard pad, i.e. in programs like Photoshop etc – it is easy that the glide works against you in detailed worked. The good, that while gaming it is a great glide pad. Being so thin – you can easily slap another pad on top of it and go with the programs and then remove when gaming. There are options.
My final verdict would be something like this:

Pro’s:
Thin profile
Good glide
Good precision
Nice looking

Con’s:
Thin – wear and tear?
Demanding something from your table
Not one for the big mouse pad gamers.

Score: 7/10

About sketchywolf

sketchywolf(aka Foolwolf) is a blog where I will try different hobbies and document them on. Certain ramblings and may even start some story writing etc. I will also try to have a collection of my reviews of all things that I try and wants to share...
This entry was posted in Hobby - Gaming, Review - GADGET and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

