I’m playing Duke Nukem forever – or am I?

So, I have done – according to STEAM 72 minutes of Duke Nukem forever – on medium. It feels weird. It feels like I’m playing a game from ancients passed. I will try to clarify:
The game is very basic in all that you can do. Switch weapons, jump, duck strafe and run. You can punch things and then there are tonnes of stupid in game interact with. Characters talks to you – regardless if you are standing in front of them or behind them. This is all very old-school and very – unpolished. The game does not try to break anything conventional – not by an inch. The game is old. That is the best way to describe it. Then there is another problem – the things one loved with the old 3D Nukem was the action, the tight shooter that it was. All that is gone. This is not a tight shooter. It is a shooter made for consoles so the tempo is down, the feel is down and heck – this can’t be that enjoyable on the consoled either I figure. The game is made for consoles in mind – but I bet that this wasn’t what they wanted to release. Still it is OK. It os not worse then Homefront – but nor does it reach the simplistic fun that Bulletstorm delivered and it can’t really touch anything from the day that Duke Nukem 3D was released. Not even the original.

The game is very much not PC – there are babes throwing themselves at Duke, and though this was the thing originally – it is now the main feature of the game it seems. Weird. Still – I think that this game should have a sign not saying 18+ or 15+ it should say: It helps if you are fifteen or can remember when you were fifteen – then the game is more enjoyable. It is adolescent fun – too bad the shooter behind it all isn’t that tight. I guess that Duke took his time not because of perfection but because they really didn’t have anything to show. Now it shows – and hopefully it still sells well so that we can recevie a worthy follow up in 2022 or something. In the meantime – have a few beers or invite some pal’s over and play this. Then perhaps this is all will seem like fun. Alone – it is barely fun and I hope I can stomach to play through it. I really hope the MP will be fun.

One thing that is good? Well I can max it on my Alienware M11x r1. 😉

About sketchywolf

sketchywolf(aka Foolwolf) is a blog where I will try different hobbies and document them on. Certain ramblings and may even start some story writing etc. I will also try to have a collection of my reviews of all things that I try and wants to share...
This entry was posted in Hobby - Gaming and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

