Some new some old and some POS

Yesterday I finally received my Razer BlackWidow – not the Ultimate edition – because frankly – I got tired of waiting. The keyboard was ordered from stores december 12th – 2010, and should have been in stores 2010-12-26 – after Christmas gift to me – not so. Still isn’t in stores so I started to compare some more and the differences are USB ports – backlit keys and stero jacks. Is that worth it? I mean the cost was up by almost 50%.

Lets evaluate:
USB ports – well i do have my computer handy next to me with a whopping 10 USB 2 contacts available where two of them are placed on the front of the cabinet. Not worth it and I have never used them on previous keyboards with them. (G15 and G15 v2) comes to mind.

Stero jacks – I have used those on my Razer Lycosa – I loved them – because they were placed at the BACK of the keyboard – not on the right side where I have my mouse. FAIL – I mean EPIC FAIL Razer – really bad placement!

Backlit – Yeah, hands down – I miss this and well – it isn’t worth that much money alone, but I miss it.

The keyboard itself – it is on try out – though a word to those that have experienced the space keys to stuck on alt or x keyor other keys getting stuck:

  1. gently press down key next to the key that gets stuck or hangs on other keys when pressed.
  2. use plastic “thingie” a spoon or something to carefully bend beneath the key’s centre to pop it out.
  3. repeat with all keys affected by this. Make sure no dirt is evident, clean and pop them back in – this helps most people with this problem.

Yesterday I also sold a beloved Corsair TX 650 w PSU. A fellow computer builder came by and picked it up. Yeay – money to spend on new gadgets, or pay for the ones already incoming.. hmmmm

Also, this morning on my way to work, I had dropped my kid off at the kindergarten and was for once in time for my bus and time to burn. I picked out my KOSS PortaPro 25th Anniversary and was ready to listen when while unfolding the headphones – the bloody plastic brakes on one of the ear-muffs. I was really displeased. What a piece of fucking crap!? I have been gentle with them, I have cursed over the way they have a slit cable that goes to my navel and the stupid bag that comes with that is too small to fit the headphones in – but always treated them with care. Now they are broke and the POS is going to be scrapped. Never again KOSS PortaPro – or well – KOSS for that matter since these were the only ones with a decent sound in them that suited at least the rather sound-weak HTC-desire.

Well, it is coffee time and work time.

About sketchywolf

sketchywolf(aka Foolwolf) is a blog where I will try different hobbies and document them on. Certain ramblings and may even start some story writing etc. I will also try to have a collection of my reviews of all things that I try and wants to share...
This entry was posted in BLOG. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

