So many games, so few bullets, so little time…?

I don’t know about you, but I have a game list on STEAM that is constantly growing. lately it has grown a lot. There has been many releases and thanks to my active decision technique – I’m finishing or more actively stopping playing games to get the most out of them. Also i spend one evening categorising my games list on STEAM, I was very proud and had made a sort of archived games list over games I didn’t want to see in my normal list. Problem was that my list didn’t carry over to my laptop… 😦

Lately, I have all these games added to my list, this is a four month period or lets start in last November:

  • Divinity II – Dragon Knight Saga
  • Poker Night (at the inventory)
  • Machinarium
  • Blood Bowl: Legendary Edition
  • King Arthur Pack
  • Shank
  • Neverwinter Nights 2: Platinum
  • Half-Life 1: Source
  • S.T.A.L.K.E.R. CoP + SoC
  • Battlefield Bad Company 2 Vietnam
  • Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II – Retribution
  • Dragon Age II (pre-order)
  • Homefront (ROW)
  • Metro 2033 (thanks to the above)
  • Bulletstorm
  • Assasins Creed Brotherhood (none STEAM)

HOLY CRAP BATMAN!

OK, in all fairness, I think I will copy that list, paste it and add some comments. You know, for being a responsible dad, I am, I have quality time with my son, and I work – that list is actually pretty big. Lets talk dig into that one.

  • Divinity II – Dragon Knight Saga
    I have stopped playing this game. After some 8 or so hours, the game felt repetitive, the levelling didn’t occur that often and the game mechanic flaws were a bit too many. The game simply didn’t offer that fun it had for six hours. A nice game, but failed to live past the 4 hour mark. Sad but true. Verdict: Uninstalled
  • Poker Night (at the inventory)
    I have gotten the Team Fortress items, almost all the achievments. The game is fun for playing Poker and not risking to lose actual money. The trouble though is that it is such a crappy performer. It is laggy, chompy and it is a black hole on performance – and for what? A poker game? Verdict: Moved to casual gaming and not played often
  • Machinarium
    OK, I have this installed on my laptop only, I see this as the sort of game I play together with my wife or perhaps my son in a year or so. i bought the game to support the indie scene and also because I liked the idea and the setting. Verdict: to be played – later
  • Blood Bowl: Legendary Edition
    Er, I played Blood Bowl, the table top game – twice or so, both unfinished games. I hardly know the rules, but I love the idea of Steam trucking an opponant, and well, it got great reviews.  Verdict: One of my bad consciences, HAS to be played, but later
  • King Arthur Pack
    OK, it was around Christmas and the jolly ol’ Saint STEAM:us had a great sale. I was high on Julmust and Christmas true meaning (spending money!) and well, it popped up – had a good review score and I had my VISA card out and… Verdict: Another one of my bad consciences, HAS to be played, but later
  • Shank
    OK, I started to try this as a demo on the PS3, but my son got too interested so I bought it on STEAM sale and well, i have been waiting to dust of the Xbox 360 controller and have at it. Verdict: I think I will make an active decision to play this when I tire of Dragon Age 2
  • Neverwinter Nights 2: Platinum
    What can I say? Lazyness and flat rate broadband are great for adding ‘good to have games’  when they pop up on sale. Verdict: Will most likely not even be installed until nostalgia hits.
  • Half-Life 1: Source
    Alright, finally, a game that I actually finished. I played this game some hmm, oh shit, twelve years ago or so and never finished it. Took me some time but now I have. Verdict: Played, finished and uninstalled!
  • S.T.A.L.K.E.R. CoP + SoC
    OK, I gave them the chance after having enticed me with very nice price. Turns out the games are shit – IMNSHO – (OK, that is In My Not So Humble Opinion) I even downloaded the huge mod packs that made them somewhat funnier, but STALKER just got dark and I didn’t see shit and realism ina  game about radiation? Sorry, but that never turns out well… Verdict: One of those buys I regret – game never finished won’t ever
  • Battlefield Bad Company 2 Vietnam
    After finishing the single player campaign in BBC2 – i never really played multiplayer. But BLOPS made me do it and since BLOPS had many faults I went back to BBC2 – and suddenly BBC2 logged some 100 hours of play and a rather successful career in MP. I had unlocked all weapons and gadgets and got a nice grade. I told myself that even though I hadn’t played much Vietnam – I felt happy with 100 hours, good value. Verdict: Not really a great buy, but considered finished and will most likely play now and then until a better shooter comes out.
  • Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II – Retribution
    Now i’m a WH40 k fan – I’m just waiting for that gene inside me to sparkle up and let me talk in a droning voice and send my little armies against the chaos and the mutants and heretics and… Verdict: You will be played, oh yes you naughty little game you…
  • Dragon Age II (pre-order)
    I’m playing it, writing about it – a lot on the blog. Verdict: I’m playing and intent on finishing at least once.
  • Homefront (ROW)
    OK, this poor guy hasn’t had a good time in the medias, but considering how COD have faired, a game that is said to beat COD in MP – I’m all looking forward to the pre-load to actually start… Verdict: Will be played as main FPS until it is no longer fun or frustrates the heck out of me..
  • Metro 2033 (thanks to the above)
    Got it for free, cursed it, played it, loathed it, wondered how the heck it could receive so high scores and pondered if I should start a game company and make a shopping-with-little-kids-simulator for people. Forgot about that and uninstalled after an active decision. Verdict: One of my bad consciences – but Homefront can correct this – uninstalled not finished.
  • Bulletstorm
    Wow – another wow experience – I have finished the single player campaign (not much to brag about) now I ‘m playing through the echos and cursing GFWL for the multi-player part. Bulletstorm was fun as long as it lasted, but it will not be played for much longer.Verdict: Fun for awhile, but not a stayer
  • Assasins Creed Brotherhood (none STEAM)
    OK, this isn’t even installed yet… I hope it will be fun.

So, to wrap this up, one can probably say that I have a lot still to do and that I’m a compulsive game shopper. I think I need to upgrade my active decision process.

  • Divinity II – Dragon Knight Saga
  • Poker Night (at the inventory)
  • Machinarium
  • Blood Bowl: Legendary Edition
  • King Arthur Pack
  • Shank
  • Neverwinter Nights 2: Platinum
  • Half-Life 1: Source
  • S.T.A.L.K.E.R. CoP + SoC
  • Battlefield Bad Company 2 Vietnam
  • Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II – Retribution
  • Dragon Age II (pre-order)
  • Homefront (ROW)
  • Metro 2033 (thanks to the above)
  • Bulletstorm
  • Assasins Creed Brotherhood (none STEAM)
About sketchywolf

sketchywolf(aka Foolwolf) is a blog where I will try different hobbies and document them on. Certain ramblings and may even start some story writing etc. I will also try to have a collection of my reviews of all things that I try and wants to share...
This entry was posted in Hobby - Gaming and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

